Bloggers and a kid who annoyed me

Words

Monetize

I see it all over lately, as in Monetize your Blog. But for the sake of clear communication, why not simply say make money? Monetize means to establish as legal tender. I don’t mind stretching a traditional definition if we need to describe something new. But making money? That’s been around since cave people  monetized whatever they were trading.

No

Wait

Punctuation

Unnecessary quotation marks

Check out this web site, http://www.unnecessaryquotes.com.  Lots of funny examples. I plan to contribute.

It’s versus its

I may well start a similar blog to embarrass people who confuse it’s, the contraction of it is, with its, the possessive of it. It’s the most common mistakes I see, even with normally articulate writers. Bloggers are the biggest offenders, I think.

It’s understandable. We normally use apostrophes with possessives, but this is one of the many exceptions that makes English so challenging. There’s no excuse if English is your first language, especially if you want to look professional. The rule provides an important distinction that help us communicate clearly.

So if you want to be understood and look  good, never use an apostrophe with it, unless you mean it is. Got it?

The kid

Last night my 13-year-old son pried off the keys on my keyboard and rearranged them to spell April Fool. This morning, I was very annoyed, as I delayed the start of my work day to rearrange them. Then I laughed.

2 Responses

  1. Hi there;

    Landed on your blog via my blog this morning. Agreed with your post. English is not my first language, but I came across blogs and forums sometimes even I scratch my head.

    Also signed up for your newsletter. Looking forward to learn. Moment like this should cherished…

    “Last night my 13-year-old son pried off the keys on my keyboard and rearranged them to spell April Fool. This morning, I was very annoyed, as I delayed the start of my work day to rearrange them. Then I laughed.”

  2. Thanks for the comment. I write about effective communication, often focusing on email newsletters. And occasionally my kids.

Leave a Reply

