Ladies, start your search engines

Today Margaret Wente wrote a column in the Globe and Mail asking Why are bloggers male?

According to Margaret, it’s because men like to express opinions, similar to their yen for extreme snowmobiling or ranting on Fox News.

She pointed out that most women who are comfortable expressing their opinions, which blogging requires, no longer have all that estrogen hushing them up.

She’s right. Most of the popular female bloggers I read are women of a certain age, as the French so nicely phrase it.

I regularly read Dr. Patsy Krakoff, who recently admitted she’s in her sixties. Just this morning I clicked on the photo of Mary Jaksch at Write to Done and saw she’s no spring chicken either.

In my case, dwindling estrogen levels aren’t the whole story. Being outspoken is part of my DNA and upbringing. My mother has never been shy. Neither was hers. Although I grew up in Mad Men times, it did not occur to me that women weren’t in charge. My father still obeys my mother’s every wish, even though she’s in a nursing home and can barely speak.

What a shock it was to realize I was not supposed to ask boys to dance or argue with my boss, usually a white male. Women’s lib came just in time.

Margaret didn’t go into the sex discrimination that takes place in internet marketing. She should read the post by James at Men With Pens (the title says it all) about how a male pseudonym dramatically boosted her web writing revenues.

Yes, sometimes it seems like it’s a man’s world wide web. I’m always taken aback when I read semi-literate comments from guys boasting about how they achieved 1,000 page views a day. They are either lying or tricking Google, which will end in tears.

Then I realize many of their comments are simply pissing contests. I can’t see the point.

When I meet men my age or older at Third Tuesday or other local web 2.0 events, they are usually quite proud that they blog. They frequently volunteer their age, something even an opinionated woman like me won’t do. For them, blogging seems like a fountain of youth or a Viagara substitute.

They are onto something. Blogging has in no way smoothed the wrinkles or revved up my sex life. But it has given me a new lease on life.

After many years writing for business people and politicians, finally I can tell you what I think. In my own way. Hallelujah.

My corporate experience was a wonderful way to learn the tricks of my trade. Creatively and personally, it was stifling.

Of course Margaret Wente doesn’t need to blog because she writes for the most influential newspaper in Canada. But for women like me, blogging is a blast.

After a year, I’m not getting as many page views as I’d like, so I have hired (no surprise) a guy to, as he calls it, “pimp my blog.” I’ll be moving over to my new and improved self-hosted site soon.

I’ve been using some of my posts to write a book, Write Like You Talk–Only Better, that I’ll soon be selling at Sticky Communication. It’s fulfilling to distill what I’ve learned over the years and share with other people who are not having as much fun writing.

But even without the book, I would blog. I love being a mouthy broad.

2 Responses

  1. I thought Margaret was out to lunch.
    You a mouthy broad? If you say so. 😉

  2. If you knew the trouble my mouth has landed me in…

    Margaret Wente is debating female bloggers online at noon tomorrow. Think I’ll check it out, though it interferes with my cardio and, as Sue calls it, yardio.

Leave a Reply

