Packing up to move to a grown-up blog site

This is almost as exciting as getting my first place. I’m finally psyching up to move to a self-hosted blog.

I’m moving this blog over to Sticky Communication, which will be revved up on a WordPress.org platform.

Thank you, WordPress.com, for letting me practice. But nearly 100 posts later, I’m on to bigger and better things.

As a long-time corporate writer, I was not fazed about the content creation part. But I’ve listened to so much confusing strategic advice.

Is it really all about quality content or should I do more to persuade Google and the other bots to love me? Is it not pushy to ask friends to Digg me? Is it really so important to include often-unrelated photos just to add a link? I’m still uncertain. That’s why I’m getting outside help.

I am thrilled by the freedom to stretch myself with a more conversational, creative style than I could get away with for clients and employers. And I am elated when people comment or I have a breakthrough stat day.

The trouble is the blog has taken a lot of time and not directly paid me any money–yet. But now I have edited some of my posts into a book called Write like you talk–only better, 3 steps to turn good talkers into great writers.

In addition to payments for the book, I’m planning to add another stream from related corporate training. What’s more, I dream about having enough page views to generate advertising revenue.

Just because I’m going to start making money doesn’t mean that I will get into those hard-sell manipulative tactics I loathe. After all, blogging should be about helping other people, in my case good talkers who want to become great writers so they can connect to more people.

People who fill needs don’t need to manipulate. They just need to get their name out.

I’m also excited about creating a reader community. The feedback will inspire new posts and new editions of the book, which buyers will automatically receive. Plus I like making new friends.

I wreak at design and techie stuff. So I’ve hired the talented cast at Rapport to help. I think too many bloggers try to do too much themselves. Another grown-up step.

I feel like I did more than 30 years ago, when I sat in my university dorm room, surrounded by suitcases and boxes.

I knew an exciting new chapter of my life was about to begin. I feel like that today too.

Leave a Reply

